The German Bishops, in their recent meeting ending on February 22nd, have stated, as I understand it, that the Protestant spouses of Catholics will be allowed to receive the Holy Eucharist, a.k.a. Jesus Christ, Our Lord and Savior. This presents some issues pertaining to the continuity of allowing non-Catholics to receive the blessed sacrament, but not allowing Catholics who have not yet received first communion yet to receive communion.

But most importantly it betrays a lack of reverence for God, the Creator of everything.

So, I am going to explain exactly what/who the Holy Eucharist is and the proper protocols for handling and receiving Him.

The Eucharist is the Body of Christ. Enough said.

The Eucharist is made from wafers for the specific purpose of being consecrated. After the consecration, they are to be stored in the Tabernacle. Every time the Tabernacle is opened, then, everyone in the Church should kneel to show their respect and adoration of Our Lord.

If there are far too many congregants for one priest to distribute Communion, and there are no other priests around, an Extraordinary Minister of Holy Communion could step up to give Christ to the congregation. Some may try to confuse people by calling this person the “Eucharistic Minister,” but that is incorrect, as the priest can be the only Eucharistic Minister, since he was ordained to do just that. They are called Extraordinary Ministers of Holy Communion because the circumstances taking place to make them necessary are inherently extraordinary (i.e. not ordinary or typical.)

If they appear at Mass daily, then that is a problem.

Originally, one received Christ on the tongue. This provided the least opportunity for blasphemy by dropping the host on the ground and allowing His Body to scatter so that people may walk on it.

Receiving on the tongue allows the priest to put the host directly into the person’s mouth. This holds the least possibility for error. The locus of control is on the priest, so rather than making the congregant anticipate how that particular priest prefers to give out the Eucharist and act accordingly, which is the way it is done in the Novus Ordo world, there is one way to receive communion. It is simpler and more easily understood.

Now that you know how to receive communion in the technical aspects to exhibit the most reverence, here is a comprehensive list of people who should receive Holy Communion: Persons who are in a state of grace, i.e. not in a state of mortal sin.

If, since your last confession, you have committed any of the Seven Deadly Sins, then you need to get to confession. The Seven Deadly Sins are these:

  1. Lust
  2. Gluttony
  3. Greed
  4. Sloth
  5. Wrath
  6. Envy
  7. Pride

There are also multiple shades of these sins, of which we participate in regularly.

If one were to receive communion in a state of mortal sin, that is the sin of blasphemy and it is also a mortal sin. So you add a mortal sin on top of another mortal sin, but this time it is one that directly involves God in the sin.

And, since most non-Catholics have never gone to confession, it is fair to say that they have committed many sins, some of which may be mortal sins, since their nonexistent confession.

Then there is the fact that Holy Mother the Church already has systems in place to convert people to Catholicism, if they so choose. If they are not willing to take the steps to convert to the One True Faith, then there is no reason for them to receive communion, except to keep them from feeling left out.

So the German Bishops plan to allow people to keep themselves from feeling left out by committing a sin.

This makes the German Bishops complicit in that sin.

You can learn more about how we are complicit in other people’s sins HERE.

You can learn more about the statement from the German Bishops HERE.